top of page

What is Guided Play?

NAEYC's developmentally appropriate practice position statement emphasizes the need for daily sustained play in early childhood programs. Play gives children choice and agency as they experience wonder and delight in new discoveries and experiences. Through play, children learn lifelong skills. Preschoolers need both "free play" which is entirely self-directed and guided play where educators facilitate children's play with a focus on a learning objective.


It can be hard for new teachers to facilitate guided play which requires a careful balance between teacher direction and child direction. Educators guide play by carefully observing children and being reflective and then creating environments, schedules, and interactions that promote learning.


One way to guide play strategically is to use the WIN strategy. Educators Watch play and wonder about children's thoughts and actions, Invite children to share their thinking "Tell me more about..", and then Name the child's actions and thoughts while providing additional provocations to learning.


Consider:

  • What do I value about play? How do I define learning through play? What do I think children gain from play?

  • How do I engage with children when they are at play? Do I focus on playtime as intentional instruction time? How can I support learning goals without interrupting play?

  • What are children in my class wondering about? How can I create a sense of wonder that will build on their learning?

  • How do I make space for play in my room and in my schedule? What are the rules for play? How is child choice preserved? How do I build independence in play? How much risk is allowed in play?

  • What are the next steps for the play I see happening right now? Where do I think children are going with their current explorations? What themes do I see in children's play? How do children bring their home lives into play?

  • How would I describe my role(s) during children's play? Am I a bystander, coach, or facilitator? Do I model, join in, lead, or observe? When do I take on different roles and why?

  • What are my learning goals during play? How do I embed learning goals in the ongoing selection of materials for my class? How do I support individual children with their learning goals during play?

  • How am I intentional with my language to support children's learning during play? What questions am I asking? Am I using self-talk? What vocabulary am I using? When am I quiet? How can I be more intentional about my language?

  • What books can I read related to the learning that is happening through play? Are there books that children could use as resources for play? Where in the classroom should those be placed? How else could I extend play?

  • How can I prompt children to deepen their play into mature, extended play scenarios? Are children taking roles and planning cooperative play? What props support mature play? What adult supports build mature play?

  • How do I help children plan their play?

  • Which children are having difficulty engaging in play? What skills do they need?

  • How can I engage children in reflecting on their own learning? What do I want to call attention to?

  • How do I observe for learning during play? How can I make thinking visible? How do I document play as learning for families? How do I build in time to reflect on my observations and documentation of learning?


Dig Deeper:

Useful Links
Recent Posts
bottom of page