top of page

Trauma-Informed Care - The 6 Guiding Principles

This is the third in the resources around trauma. The earlier posts can be found here with the other resource posts.


When I talk to teachers about trauma and creating safety and predictability, I often hear, “But they are safe here!” It’s important to realize that just because we experience an environment as safe and predictable, the child may not experience it the same way. For a child who has experienced food insecurity, a boundary about how or when they can eat can provoke a trauma response. For a child who has experienced domestic violence, any raised voice may provoke a trauma response even if it is not raised in anger. For a child who has experienced neglect, feelings of hunger may provoke behaviors especially if they can’t trust the adults and aren’t able to predict when they might get food. Children who do not feel safe and in control can’t focus on learning or following directions. 


In a trauma-informed approach, teachers who are responding to trauma use the 6 guiding principles to a trauma-informed approach:


  1. Creating felt safety - emotionally and physically

How do I make sure that children feel safe with me and in my classroom? What triggers children in my space to feel unsafe? What can I do to reduce those triggers? Am I emotionally and physically available to all children to provide felt safety? Am I noticing children’s needs and responding in a calm and nurturing way?


  1. Trustworthiness, transparency, and attunement of adults to child needs

How can I help children to feel like their world is predictable? What would help them to know what to expect at all parts of their day? How can I build predictability when there are changes or transitions? How can I help children predict my behaviors and those of their friends? How can they feel in control of their world? How do my responses to behaviors feel safe and predictable?


  1. Social supports and relationships with peers

How are children building relationships with one another? How can I help build those skills? Do they know how others are feeling? Do they know how to help others? Do they know how to join play and take turns? How can I help families build relationships with one another outside of school?


  1. Collaboration, choice and control - shared decision making with child and family

What choices can children make in my space? What power struggles can I avoid? What learning is most important to families? How can I engage families in our classroom? 


  1. Empowerment - building on child and family strengths, valuing and respecting individuals

What are the strengths of the children and families in my classroom and how can I build on those strengths? How can I help children to recognize their own needs and begin to advocate effectively? 


  1. Awareness of broader cultural, historical, and gender contexts and equity and culturally responsive practices

How do I learn about children’s home lives, values, routines, and expectations? When do I have time to reflect with others and how do I get supports? What learning have I had about culturally responsive care? How can I learn from families to incorporate diverse perspectives into my classroom?  


Dig Deeper:

Useful Links
Recent Posts
bottom of page